Photo Courtesy: Phil JAC

The New Iloilo Airport at Cabatuan, Iloilo

News Blog about the New Iloilo Airport

Wednesday, December 08, 2010

Media recognized for contribution to peace and order

PIA Press Release

Media recognized for contribution to peace and order

Iloilo City (7 December) -- The support given by Perla Lena of the Philippine News Agency and Nestor Burgos of the Philippine Daily Inquirer in the finalization of the Media Protocol Situation did not go unnoticed by the Police Regional Office 6.

PRO 6 Director Chief Superintendent Cipriano E. Querol presented Plaques of Appreciation to Lena and Burgos in a ceremony intended to acknowledge the invaluable contributions of individuals in maintaining peace and order in Western Visayas held at Camp Delgado, Iloilo City on December 6, 2010.

The Media Protocol Situation stipulates the ground rules the members of media will observe during coverages of hostage situation and similar crisis.

Querol also awarded the Medalya ng Papuri or PNP Commendation Medal to police officers who were responsible for the arrest of Keneth Barrido and voluntary surrender of John Andrew Mojana and Ryan Dela Cruz, suspects in the killing of Walter Hermita, a taxi driver last November 23 at Villa Carolina Village, Arevalo, Iloilo City during the ceremony.

The awardees were Police Superintendent Eugenio A. Espejo, Police Chief Inspectors Dande B. Deocampo and Orly Z Gabinete; Police Inspector Manny C. Manuel; and Police Officers 1 Basilio V. Rezo and Vernie Escorial.

PRO6 Information Office reported that a commendation was also given to seven security guards and a barangay tanod for their participation in the arrest of Rodney Ben Hachuela, a wanted person for Frustrated Homicide who was then undergoing treatment at San Lorenzo Ruiz Surgical Ward of West Visayas State University Medical Center on October 18 when the arrest was made.

Retired Police Senior Superintendent Vicente Neptuno, Security Consultant of the WVSUMC led the security guard awardees detailed in the same hospital. The security guards were Security Guard 1 Alfredo A. Anacan, Jr. and Security Officer Jose T. Buncalan, Jr., both are government guards; and Jonathan A. Ticzon, Myla E. Bolido, Rose G. Panes, and Julie S. Tupas of the Automatic Response Security Agency.

Also recognized for his contribution for the same accomplishment was Margarito Padernal, a Barangay Tanod from Poblacion Ilaya, Dumarao, Capiz.

During the ceremony, Querol highlighted the importance of partnership with other sectors and stakeholders to ensure that Western Visayas and the country will be a peaceful place to live, work and do business in. (PIA/PRO6IO)


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home